top of page

Previous Alto Section Leader (2015-16): Jocelyn Castro


You may have seen our newest Section Leader, Jocelyn Kate Castro, singing among the sopranos three or four times last quarter. That's because she officially was a soprano—from her second song in Tinig up to the end of Fall quarter this year. However, her first song "At the Beginning" from Anastasia, otherwise known as the only song for which we've never used sheet music, she knows by heart as an alto.

Jocelyn is a fourth year, psychobiology major, with a bit of a quirky personality. An L.A. native, born in Culver City and grown in Eagle Rock/Boyle Heights, she was homeschooled in an independent studies program, condensing four years of schooling (7th to 10th grade) into three. "Then I got sick of it," she said, "because I missed people. So I did my last two years at Mendez Learning Center,” which is now known as Mendez High School.

Another integral part of her character is her religion. As a Seventh-Day Adventist,[1] part of a Protestant sect, Jocelyn goes to church on Saturdays rather than Sundays, and avoids eating pork and shellfish.

Hobbies? Watching Korean dramas and anime, playing piano and video games. For the former, Jocelyn particularly likes the dramas Healer and Dream High, and cites Yakitate!! Japan[2] as her favorite anime. Although she tends towards shojo anime, which targets a female audience, more recently she's been watching shounen, the male counterpart, and horror as a specific genre.

As per usual for these interviews, Jocelyn was asked how she defined herself. Other people interpreted this literally, citing that "memories" define the self, while some listed particular characteristics, such as creativity and determination. Jocelyn, however, clearly felt that these would be too limiting.

Jocelyn (J): Well, I don't know. I don't like this question. Try asking it again.

Ria (R): Okay... What do you feel defines you as a person?

J: What defines me as a person... Hey Francis,[3] what defines you as a person?

Francis Villaruz (FV): … My hair defines me as a person.

R: That's not what you said before.[4]

J: Well, my hair does not define me as a person.

FV: You're clumsy?

J: That's true.

R: Is that your answer?

J: No, I would not like that to define me as a person.

FV: You have food in your hair.[5]

J: Do I have food in my hair, or hair in my food?

The conversation derailed even further, but she did eventually list some characteristic qualities: being a Filipino-American, a UCLA student, her uncertainty concerning her future employment, her fondness for food, for watching shows, and for people. "I like to be around people. Truth be told, some people. They are good company, some better than others.”

("Like you, Ria. You are good company." "Oh, thank you, Jocelyn. You are good company too." "Does this define our friendship?")

Music, for Jocelyn, is expression—a way to let go of feelings, to fool around, to have fun.

Besides piano, for which Jocelyn had irregular lessons over the years, her other pre-Tinig musical experience includes 3rd grade choir for which she had to audition ("They actually accepted me!") and church choir, which has started and restarted over the years, usually lasting only a few months at a time. She admits no particular favorites for songs or genres, except perhaps ballads and the occasional K-pop song. "Dancing Queen" from Mamma Mia is her go-to for karaoke.

During Bruin Life Weekend (BLW),[6] when accepted high school students may visit to experience campus life, Jocelyn was introduced to Tinig with simply: "Do you like singing?" She responded positively. Then as an actual UCLA student, she dragged her roommate Danielle Rivera, who would become the Soprano Section Leader the following year, with her to join rehearsals.

That first year, Jocelyn made many friends in Tinig, close friends, to whom she still talks. Her fondness for the group was readily apparent when she even arranged for Tinig to perform at her debut,[7] the songs being “Tanging Yaman” and “At the Beginning.” Winter Retreat,[8] however, remains her favorite memory: "I learned everyone's names!" More seriously, "[It was then] I realized that I really enjoyed being in Tinig, that I felt that this group could really support me. I felt like it was a second family."

Jocelyn joined Samahang Pilipino Advancing Community Empowerment (SPACE),[9] her second and third years, tutoring kids and thereby increasing access to higher education for Filipinos and other underrepresented minorities. Yet the commitment required as first a Peer Tutor, and then the Belmont Site Coordinator, left her unable to go to rehearsals. "Now that I'm not in SPACE, I have more free time. I want my last year to be enjoyable, I feel like Tinig will help me make the most of it."

Singing and teaching have always been enjoyable to Jocelyn, from choir to piano, passing along lessons for the latter to little cousins, to choir once more. Her message for her new section mates follows:

Dear Alto Section,

It's chill. Don't be scared to sing; it's fun. Just try it!

Let's learn the alto section of the songs together, have fun, and

be friends.

Swipes for Jocelyn!

Notes.

1. Learn more about SDAs here. 2. I recommend watching (or reading) Yakitate!! but not to the end. It gets (How shall I phrase it?) odd, a parody of an ending. Hopefully, Shokugeki, which Jocelyn also likes due to the similarity, won’t go the same way.

3. Why was Francis, our fearless leader, there? Jocelyn had her initiation the same day as the interview, receiving a detailed explanation of her position and role.

4. His answer was the memories one. Understandably, it was a few months ago.

5. An apparently little known fact: I buy a treat for all interviewees as an extra incentive for them to talk with me. This time, we went to B Sweet, and Jocelyn got an affogato and bread pudding. There were some crumbs in her hair.

6. Find out more about BLW here!

7. The Debut is a coming-of-age (18) celebration in the Philippines, particularly for females, somewhat similar to the Sweet Sixteen parties in the U.S. Learn more info here.

8. Winter Retreat is currently scheduled for the weekend between 4th and 5th weeks! Yes, it’s worth it. Didn’t you read what Tina said about it?

9. Want to join SPACE? I’m sure you could talk to Jocelyn about it. But you can also learn more here.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page